W. Brooks Paternotte http://wypr.org en Northern Copperhead Snakes http://wypr.org/post/northern-copperhead-snakes <p>Northern copperheads can be found in forested hillsides and wetlands, and will even occupy wood or sawdust piles from the Eastern Shore west to the Blue Ridge Mountains.</p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 21:46:00 +0000 W. Brooks Paternotte 502524 at http://wypr.org Northern Copperhead Snakes The Mighty Poison Ivy http://wypr.org/post/mighty-poison-ivy <p>Scientists at the University of Georgia found that poison ivy’s growth and potency has doubled just since the 1960s. They believe it’s because poison ivy is particularly sensitive to CO2 levels.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 21:30:00 +0000 W. Brooks Paternotte 502199 at http://wypr.org The Mighty Poison Ivy Chesapeake Bay Fishing http://wypr.org/post/chesapeake-bay-fishing <p></p><p>Fish ranging from small minnows to striped bass several feet long can be found in our listening area.&nbsp; Tue, 08 Jul 2014 03:35:33 +0000 W. Brooks Paternotte 501815 at http://wypr.org Chesapeake Bay Fishing Bats http://wypr.org/post/bats <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Bats perform a true ecological miracle every night.</span></p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 21:42:00 +0000 W. Brooks Paternotte 501549 at http://wypr.org Bats Water Conservation http://wypr.org/post/water-conservation <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Low flow shower heads used to be synonymous with pitiful water pressure and a bad hair day.</span></p><p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 21:50:00 +0000 W. Brooks Paternotte 500896 at http://wypr.org Water Conservation Fireflies http://wypr.org/post/fireflies <p>Fireflies thrive in our forests and fields, and the margins between them. &nbsp;But there just aren’t as many of these bioluminescent beetles as there once were. &nbsp;Fireflies are disappearing.</p> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 21:47:00 +0000 W. Brooks Paternotte 500843 at http://wypr.org Fireflies The Baltimore Checkerspot Butterfly http://wypr.org/post/baltimore-checkerspot-butterfly <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Like the Baltimore oriole, the checkerspot's beautiful orange and black coloration match those on Lord Baltimore's shield.</p><p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 21:17:00 +0000 W. Brooks Paternotte 500501 at http://wypr.org The Baltimore Checkerspot Butterfly Citizen Science http://wypr.org/post/citizen-science <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">If you’ve ever wanted to be involved in the great work that scientists do, this is your chance.</span></p><p> Tue, 27 May 2014 21:32:00 +0000 W. Brooks Paternotte 13565 at http://wypr.org Citizen Science Terrapins http://wypr.org/post/terrapins <p>Many of our local students are graduating from University of Maryland this week. And likely all of them know that the name of their famous mascot, Testudo, is the Latin word for tortoise.</p><p> Tue, 20 May 2014 20:25:29 +0000 W. Brooks Paternotte 13397 at http://wypr.org Terrapins Orioles http://wypr.org/post/orioles <p>The rich, whistling song of the Baltimore oriole, echoing from treetops near homes and parks, is a sweet herald of spring in eastern North America.</p><p> Tue, 13 May 2014 20:32:49 +0000 W. Brooks Paternotte 13051 at http://wypr.org Orioles