Bob Mondello http://wypr.org en Big Names, High Production Values ... And These Are Indie Flicks? http://wypr.org/post/big-names-high-production-values-and-these-are-indie-flicks A small budget doesn't mean a film can't have big-name stars or high production values. Witness the rural Southern drama <em>Joe</em>, which brings Nicolas Cage back to indie films, and Jim Jarmusch's <em>Only Lovers Left Alive, </em>which turns the city of Detroit into an otherworldly landscape. Their low-budget aesthetic also allows these films to turn Hollywood conventions inside out.<p>The title character in <em>Joe</em> poisons trees for a living. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 11460 at http://wypr.org Big Names, High Production Values ... And These Are Indie Flicks? Mickey Rooney, All-American Boy For More Than 90 Years, Dies http://wypr.org/post/mickey-rooney-all-american-boy-more-90-years-dies Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Mickey Rooney, who lived a long life on stage and screen, died last night at his home in Los Angeles. He was 93. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:23:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 11211 at http://wypr.org Stay Classy, Norwich: 'Alan Partridge' Aims For American Success http://wypr.org/post/stay-classy-norwich-alan-partridge-aims-american-success Say the name Alan Partridge in Britain, and everyone knows who you're talking about: An airheaded, funny and entirely fictional broadcaster prone to saying things like, "You can keep Jesus — as far as I'm concerned, Neil Diamond will always be King of the Jews."<p>British comedian Steve Coogan has been playing Partridge on radio and TV for more than 20 years. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 20:45:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 11111 at http://wypr.org Stay Classy, Norwich: 'Alan Partridge' Aims For American Success Send Out The Doves: 'Noah' Lands On Solid Ground http://wypr.org/post/send-out-doves-noah-lands-solid-ground The story of Noah's Ark is getting blockbuster treatment in Hollywood's new biblical epic <em>Noah</em>. Darren Aronofsky's film about the Old Testament shipbuilder has been sparking controversy — but there's no denying that the Great Flood, digitized, is a pretty great flood.<p>"In the beginning there was ... Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:49:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 10766 at http://wypr.org Send Out The Doves: 'Noah' Lands On Solid Ground Addicted To Sex, But Not Really Having Much Fun http://wypr.org/post/addicted-sex-not-really-having-much-fun Danish filmmaker Lars von Trier has found all sorts of ways to provoke moviegoers in the past — with metal spikes in <em>Antichrist</em>, by ignoring narrative conventions in <em>Dogville,</em> by presenting depression as the only reasonable reaction to the world as we know it — and then destroying that world — in <em>Melancholia.</em> And as if this last weren't enough, he told a Nazi joke to a crowd prepared to shower him with adulation at Cannes.<p>So it's reasonable to expect something decently outrageous, or perhaps indecently outrageous, from a four-hour opus called <em>Nymphomaniac</em> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 17:25:18 +0000 Bob Mondello 10404 at http://wypr.org Addicted To Sex, But Not Really Having Much Fun Middle-Aged Souls Channel Teen Rebellion, Just For A 'Week-End' http://wypr.org/post/middle-aged-souls-channel-teen-rebellion-just-week-end <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vB6508I35Mo</p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 21:03:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 10016 at http://wypr.org Middle-Aged Souls Channel Teen Rebellion, Just For A 'Week-End' Review: 'The Grand Budapest Hotel' http://wypr.org/post/review-grand-budapest-hotel Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Filmmaker Wes Anderson makes movies that are eccentric, pointedly artificial and, to his fans, very funny. From his early comedies "Rushmore" and "The Royal Tannenbaums," to last year's Oscar-nominated "Moonrise Kingdom," Anderson's movies have looked and sounded different from everyone else's in Hollywood. And critic Bob Mondello says that streak continues with his spoof of extravagant 1930s melodramas. It's called "The Grand Budapest Hotel."<p>BOB MONDELLO, BYLINE: The hotel looks a bit like a pink wedding cake perched atop a Swiss Alp. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 21:09:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 9720 at http://wypr.org Alain Resnais, Director And Master Of Disorientation, Dies At 91 http://wypr.org/post/alain-resnais-director-and-master-disorientation-dies-91 Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The French filmmaker who shook up European cinema and offered inspiration to directors as varied as Woody Allen and David Lynch died on Saturday. Alain Resnais caused a sensation with his films "Hiroshima Mon Amour" and "Last Year at Marienbad" in the 1950s and '60s. Critic Bob Mondello offers an appreciation.<p>BOB MONDELLO, BYLINE: Memory, or rather how unreliable memory can be, fascinated Alain Resnais. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 21:42:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 9513 at http://wypr.org A Meet-Cute Romance With A Delicious Twist http://wypr.org/post/meet-cute-romance-delicious-twist <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ENgWVvQYCxg</p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 22:04:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 9362 at http://wypr.org A Meet-Cute Romance With A Delicious Twist Harold Ramis: A Big-Screen Comedy Nerd, Eager To Please http://wypr.org/post/harold-ramis-big-screen-comedy-nerd-eager-please <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSVeDx9fk60</p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 22:11:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 9190 at http://wypr.org Harold Ramis: A Big-Screen Comedy Nerd, Eager To Please