Sidsel Overgaard http://wypr.org en 'Frozen' Success Gives Norway A Potential Tourism Boost http://wypr.org/post/frozen-success-gives-norway-potential-tourism-boost Transcript <p>JACKI LYDEN, HOST: <p>Tonight are the Oscars, of course, which will be hosted by the musician and actor Common. One film that's up for a couple of different Oscars is Disney's box-office animated hit "Frozen," which has nominations for Best Animated Feature and Best Original Song. Sun, 02 Mar 2014 12:20:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 9449 at http://wypr.org New Nordic Food Gods Loosen Up On Strictly Local Cuisine http://wypr.org/post/new-nordic-food-gods-loosen-strictly-local-cuisine This story begins with a lemon. It appeared not long ago on a houseboat-cum-food lab docked outside Scandinavia's temple of local food, the restaurant noma, in Copenhagen.<p>"Isn't that, like, the forbidden fruit?," I ask. Wed, 15 Jan 2014 14:55:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 7364 at http://wypr.org New Nordic Food Gods Loosen Up On Strictly Local Cuisine When Is Cinnamon Spice Not So Nice? The Great Danish Debate http://wypr.org/post/when-cinnamon-spice-not-so-nice-great-danish-debate Who doesn't love a Danish pastry?<br /> <br />And in Denmark, they like their pastries sprinkled with plenty of cinnamon.<br /> <br />But now, Denmark's bakers are being told that their time-honored recipe for the beloved <em>kanelsnegle</em> — or cinnamon swirl — may be unhealthy and against the law. Recent testing by the Danish government found that a large number of the rolls had too much cinnamon — more than the recommended limits set by the European Union.<br /> Wed, 25 Dec 2013 11:03:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 6548 at http://wypr.org When Is Cinnamon Spice Not So Nice? The Great Danish Debate Denmark's 'Fix Rooms' Give Drug Users A Safe Haven http://wypr.org/post/denmarks-fix-rooms-give-drug-users-safe-haven Martin Jensen smokes heroin.<p>In the past, when this gaunt-faced Dane had to hide in elevators and stairwells to feed his addiction, he probably wouldn't have been so willing to advertise that fact. Back then, his days were spent scouring Copenhagen — mostly the notorious Vesterbro neighborhood — for places to smoke, out of sight of the police and children. Mon, 16 Dec 2013 22:17:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 6198 at http://wypr.org Denmark's 'Fix Rooms' Give Drug Users A Safe Haven Too Cool For (Bike) Helmet Head? Here's One Swedish Solution http://wypr.org/post/too-cool-bike-helmet-head-heres-one-swedish-solution Hey there, hipster. No bike helmet, huh? Well, we all have our excuses. There are the vanity-driven ones that — let's be honest — explain why the majority of our brain cages sit collecting dust in the dark corners of the garage. Mon, 18 Nov 2013 17:36:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 5014 at http://wypr.org Too Cool For (Bike) Helmet Head? Here's One Swedish Solution As Greenland Seeks Economic Development, Is Uranium The Way? http://wypr.org/post/greenland-seeks-economic-development-uranium-way Karen Hanghoj, a scientist with Denmark's Geological Survey, points to the southern tip of Greenland on a colorful map hanging in her office.<p>"What you can see here in the southern region here is you have a big pink region," she says. "And then within the pink region, you see you have all these little purple dots.<p>"And what the purple dots are is a later period of rifting. These complexes have these weird chemistries and have these very, very strange minerals in them," she adds.<p>Those minerals include rare earth elements. Wed, 16 Oct 2013 16:51:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 3576 at http://wypr.org As Greenland Seeks Economic Development, Is Uranium The Way? Pork Politics: Why Some Danes Want Pig Meat Required On Menus http://wypr.org/post/pork-politics-why-some-danes-want-pig-meat-required-menus In Denmark, pigs outnumber people 2 to 1. Wed, 25 Sep 2013 19:32:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 2716 at http://wypr.org