Tom Pelton http://wypr.org en Beaver Boom Dams Up Pollution Control Projects http://wypr.org/post/beaver-boom-dams-pollution-control-projects <p>Once nearly extinct in the East, beaver populations&nbsp;are booming.&nbsp; Their comeback, however,&nbsp;is creating complications for storm water pollution control systems, which beavers love to dam up.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Stephanie </span>Boyles<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Griffin, director of wildlife response for the Humane Society of the U.S., is convincing governments to use devices called "beaver deceivers." They&nbsp;foil beaver dams in a way that does not kill the animals.</span></p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 17:28:54 +0000 Tom Pelton 11621 at http://wypr.org Beaver Boom Dams Up Pollution Control Projects Wind Farm Proposal Hit by Hurricane of Political Opposition http://wypr.org/post/wind-farm-proposal-hit-hurricane-political-opposition <p>Fourth generation farm owners Mary Anne and Rick Peterman are among the residents of&nbsp;the Eastern Shore of Maryland who would profit from a proposed&nbsp;50-turbine wind farm that could be the first built on the Delmarva Peninsula.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 18:07:21 +0000 Tom Pelton 11263 at http://wypr.org Wind Farm Proposal Hit by Hurricane of Political Opposition Spills of Coal Ash and Chemicals Illustrate Need for EPA http://wypr.org/post/spills-coal-ash-and-chemicals-illustrate-need-epa <p>A coal waste containment pond owned by the nation’s largest power company, Duke Energy, ruptured in February, spewing almost 40,000 tons of toxic muck into North Carolina's Dan River.</p><p>The disaster -- along with a chemical spill into a West Virginia river&nbsp;-- illustrate the need for&nbsp;strong regulatory action by&nbsp;EPA to protect waterways at a time the federal agency is&nbsp;being&nbsp;criticized as unnecessary. &nbsp;&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">(Photo by U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service/Steve Alexander) &nbsp;</span></p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 18:36:06 +0000 Tom Pelton 10942 at http://wypr.org Spills of Coal Ash and Chemicals Illustrate Need for EPA Electronic Tracking Follows Epic Migration of Osprey http://wypr.org/post/electronic-tracking-follows-epic-migration-osprey <p>The Chesapeake Bay Foundation is using tiny cell-phone like devices in backpacks on osprey to follow the migration of the fish hawks from South America to North America.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 19:01:06 +0000 Tom Pelton 10590 at http://wypr.org Electronic Tracking Follows Epic Migration of Osprey "The Dover Eight" http://wypr.org/post/dover-eight <p></p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 17:33:24 +0000 Tom Pelton 10342 at http://wypr.org Climate Engineering is a Controversial "Plan B" for Global Warming http://wypr.org/post/climate-engineering-controversial-plan-b-global-warming <p>Can we engineer Earth's atmosphere to stop global warming?</p><p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 15:42:31 +0000 Tom Pelton 10272 at http://wypr.org Climate Engineering is a Controversial "Plan B" for Global Warming Genetic Engineering to Save Endangered Species http://wypr.org/post/genetic-engineering-save-endangered-species <p>In a new book, <em>Frankenstein's Cat, </em>author Emily Anthes makes the provocative argument that cloning and genetic engineering could be used as tools to help bring back endangered species and perhaps even to resurrect extinct animals.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 18:51:57 +0000 Tom Pelton 9885 at http://wypr.org Genetic Engineering to Save Endangered Species Shortchanging Maryland's Land Preservation Program http://wypr.org/post/shortchanging-marylands-land-preservation-program <p>Maryland Governor Martin O'Malley pledged to "fully fund" the state's land preservation program when he ran for office, but then diverted $693 million from the dedicated land preservation fund to help solve a budget crisis after the recession hit. &nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 19:25:50 +0000 Tom Pelton 9555 at http://wypr.org Shortchanging Maryland's Land Preservation Program Texas is Messing With the Chesapeake Bay Cleanup http://wypr.org/post/texas-messing-chesapeake-bay-cleanup <p>Why did the&nbsp;Attorneys General of Texas and 20 other states recently join a lawsuit to stop the Chesapeake Bay cleanup?&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 19:51:38 +0000 Tom Pelton 9231 at http://wypr.org Texas is Messing With the Chesapeake Bay Cleanup "Black Liquor" Loophole Consumes Almost Half of Clean Energy Subsidies http://wypr.org/post/black-liquor-loophole-consumes-almost-half-clean-energy-subsidies <p>Clean energy advocates are urging the Maryland General Assembly to close a loophole in the state's renewable energy law, which allows&nbsp;paper mills&nbsp;to burn a wood waste called "black liquor"&nbsp;to collect&nbsp;millions of dollars in subsidies from electricity rate payers.</p><p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 19:12:49 +0000 Tom Pelton 8918 at http://wypr.org "Black Liquor" Loophole Consumes Almost Half of Clean Energy Subsidies