The Humanities Connection http://wypr.org en Books: A Doorway to Discovery http://wypr.org/post/books-doorway-discovery <p>The years before children enter the classroom are crucial to setting a student on the path to academic success.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 21:23:00 +0000 Kyle Leslie 502661 at http://wypr.org Books: A Doorway to Discovery Baltimore Heritage, Telling Our Stories http://wypr.org/post/baltimore-heritage-telling-our-stories <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Our heritage is comprised of not only dates and historical facts, but also the stories we hand down to future generations.</span></p><p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 20:20:46 +0000 Kyle Leslie 502307 at http://wypr.org Baltimore Heritage, Telling Our Stories Civic Reflection: Inside and Out http://wypr.org/post/civic-reflection-inside-and-out <p></p><p style="margin-left:4.5pt;"><a href="http://www.mdmediation.org/" target="_blank">Community Mediation Maryland</a> is a nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting and strengthening mediation programs in our state. Their Maryland Humanities Council grant-supported program, <em>Civic Reflection: Inside and Out</em>, adds reading and discussion to their successful prisoner re-entry mediation programs.</p><p style="margin-left:4.5pt;"> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 13:54:05 +0000 Will Gramling 502016 at http://wypr.org Civic Reflection: Inside and Out Gilmor's Raid http://wypr.org/post/gilmors-raid <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Maryland played a pivotal role during the Civil War. The war between brothers was fought around us and in our backyards.</span></p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 21:02:00 +0000 Kyle Leslie 501612 at http://wypr.org Gilmor's Raid Chautauqua “Emily Dickinson” http://wypr.org/post/chautauqua-emily-dickinson <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">This July marks the </span>20th<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;anniversary of Chautauqua, the Maryland Humanities Council’s free living history performance series, where scholars perform as famous people from history and then engage the audience in conversation in character.</span></p><p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 21:34:00 +0000 Kyle Leslie 501327 at http://wypr.org Chautauqua “Emily Dickinson” For Whom it Stands: The Flag and the American People http://wypr.org/post/whom-it-stands-flag-and-american-people <p>It seems logical that the exhibition, <a href="http://www.rflewismuseum.org/fwis">"For Whom it Stands: The Flag and the American People,"</a> would be mounted at the <a href="http://www.rflewismuseum.org/">Reginald F. Lewis Museum</a>.</p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 21:46:00 +0000 Kyle Leslie 500958 at http://wypr.org For Whom it Stands: The Flag and the American People Audiovisual Archiving at the University of Baltimore’s Langsdale Library http://wypr.org/post/audiovisual-archiving-university-baltimore-s-langsdale-library <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Over the past few months, Humanities Connection has had the pleasure of presenting episodes featuring a a variety of libraries and highlighting the great work of librarians around the region.</span></p><p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Kyle Leslie 500215 at http://wypr.org Audiovisual Archiving at the University of Baltimore’s Langsdale Library The History of Canton, Baltimore http://wypr.org/post/history-canton-baltimore <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Have you ever wondered how the neighborhood of Canton was given its name?</span></p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 21:05:00 +0000 Kyle Leslie 500216 at http://wypr.org The History of Canton, Baltimore History Day Changes Students’ Life Trajectory http://wypr.org/post/history-day-changes-students-life-trajectory <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">History Day is an exciting learning experience for students in grades 6 through 12. Through Maryland History Day, nearly 19,000 Maryland students learn about ideas, people, and events in history and apply what they have learned through creative and original projects.</span></p><p> Thu, 29 May 2014 21:30:00 +0000 Kyle Leslie 13837 at http://wypr.org History Day Changes Students’ Life Trajectory Common Core at the Library http://wypr.org/post/common-core-library <p>Among the many services libraries offer, the resources they can provide educators supports the common core curriculum with both original and digitized primary resources, many of which bring history to life.</p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 21:15:00 +0000 Kyle Leslie 13509 at http://wypr.org Common Core at the Library