A Blue View http://wypr.org en Floating Forests - 4/15/14 http://wypr.org/post/floating-forests-41514 <p>Far south of the Chesapeake, fringing tropical and subtropical coastlines, there exist floating forests of mangroves, whose roots grow in a luxuriant tangle at the ocean's edge.&nbsp; And there, they thrive. Botanists call the 50 species of mangroves halophylic, or "salt loving."</p><p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 00:37:32 +0000 John Racanelli 11645 at http://wypr.org The Colorful Poison Dart Frog - 4/8/14 http://wypr.org/post/colorful-poison-dart-frog-4814 <p>Blue as sapphires, red as rubies and black as onyx—there are more than 100 species of beautifully colored poison dart frogs. There is even one called "the blue jeans frog," because its bottom half is the color of denim.</p><p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 23:29:00 +0000 John Racanelli 11231 at http://wypr.org The Challenge with Polluted Runoff - 4/1/14 http://wypr.org/post/challenge-polluted-runoff-4114 <p><br />One of the most challenging environmental issues in communication across Maryland and in communities all over the world is polluted runoff. As solutions are considered and implemented, what is clear is that we have to do something.<br />&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 09:30:00 +0000 John Racanelli 10900 at http://wypr.org Why Turtle Rescue Is Important - 3/25/14 http://wypr.org/post/why-turtle-rescue-important-32514 <p><br />Did you know that every species of sea turtle in US waters is endangered? Preserving these amazing and essential sea creatures is of the utmost importance.</p><p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 21:53:07 +0000 John Racanelli 10609 at http://wypr.org The Sounds of the Wood Frogs and Spring Peepers - 3/18/14 http://wypr.org/post/sounds-wood-frogs-and-spring-peepers-31814 <p>Through the winter, woodlands and meadows are mostly quiet at night. But with the arrival of spring rains and warming temperatures, that silence is broken by loud choruses of wood frogs and spring peepers. These are the first frog species to come out of hibernation and begin the year’s amphibian breeding season.</p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 18:46:55 +0000 John Racanelli 10280 at http://wypr.org On the Surface - 3/11/14 http://wypr.org/post/surface-31114 <p>The phrase “impervious surface” is used by city planners, developers, real estate agents, lawyers, and citizens in Maryland and beyond.</p><p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 09:30:00 +0000 John Racanelli 9799 at http://wypr.org Inside Giant Clams - 3/4/14 http://wypr.org/post/inside-giant-clams-3414 <p>In the vastness of the ocean, there are many so-called animal to animal symbionts, seemingly odd-fellow relationships from which both species benefit. But what about symbiosis between an animal and a plant? Or more specifically, a plant-like alga called zooxanthellae?</p><p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 21:20:56 +0000 John Racanelli 9563 at http://wypr.org On the Ocean Floor - 11/19/13 http://wypr.org/post/ocean-floor-111913 <p>The ocean floor is often thought of as a continuation of the land, a featureless sandy plain stretching across the sea to another shore thousands of miles away.&nbsp; Yet, this could hardly be further from the truth.</p><p> Wed, 20 Nov 2013 19:13:00 +0000 5099 at http://wypr.org Talking to Kids About the Environment - 11/12/13 http://wypr.org/post/talking-kids-about-environment-111213 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Kids are curious, and want to soak up all the knowledge they can about our natural world. Yet the approach one needs to take in order to effectively communicate about the environment is very different depending on the age.</span></p><p> Tue, 12 Nov 2013 14:10:09 +0000 4715 at http://wypr.org Protecting Our Coasts - 11/5/13 http://wypr.org/post/protecting-our-coasts-11513 <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Coral reefs are amazingly diverse ecosystems, serving as essential breeding, nursery, and feeding grounds for countless species. Wetlands, too, are thriving environments, teeming with life and serving as stops for millions of migratory birds.</span></p><p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 14:11:34 +0000 4470 at http://wypr.org