A Blue View http://wypr.org en Seaside Wonders: Sea Stars and Urchins - 7/22/14 http://wypr.org/post/seaside-wonders-sea-stars-and-urchins-72214 <p>A common decorating theme for beach houses and shore hotels, sea stars, sand dollars and sea urchins signify summer vacation.</p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 02:09:13 +0000 John Racanelli 502483 at http://wypr.org Transient Giants: How Sand Dunes Protect Our Beaches - 7/15/14 http://wypr.org/post/transient-giants-how-sand-dunes-protect-our-beaches-71514 <p>Sand dunes, those soft summertime beach-sights that can be scaled in flip-flops and dune buggies, are coastal geology that evolve in real time.</p><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 12:58:38 +0000 John Racanelli 502176 at http://wypr.org More Than Meets the Eye - 7/8/14 http://wypr.org/post/more-meets-eye-7814 <p>Take a walk on your local shoreline and you might be lucky enough to spot a blue heron fishing for its next meal or sand crabs disappearing back into the sand after being exposed by a crashing wave.&nbsp; But while these creatures might be the ones to catch your attention, many of our watershed’s more overlooked inhabitants are playing an equally critical role in maintaining this complex ecosystem.</p><p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 03:44:57 +0000 John Racanelli 501816 at http://wypr.org From Backyard to Bay: The Impact of Planting Native Plants - 7/1/14 http://wypr.org/post/backyard-bay-impact-planting-native-plants-7114 <p>The colorful Black-Eyed Susan and the sweet-smelling magnolia are just two of the many stunning flowers and trees native to the Chesapeake Bay region.</p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 22:13:42 +0000 John Racanelli 501565 at http://wypr.org Survival Skills of the Elusive Giant Squid - 6/24/14 http://wypr.org/post/survival-skills-elusive-giant-squid-62414 <p></p><p>Its eye is the size of your head. It lives more than 3,000 feet deep in oceans around the world and is 30 feet long, yet it lacks a backbone. With eight arms and two tentacles, it is the origin of the myth of the Kraken.</p><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 21:28:51 +0000 John Racanelli 501181 at http://wypr.org Reducing Your Footprint While Enjoying the Shore - 6/17/14 http://wypr.org/post/reducing-your-footprint-while-enjoying-shore-61714-0 <p>The Chesapeake Bay is a playground in the summer, with people using this amazing natural resource for fishing, boating, even simply enjoying a relaxing day on the beach along its shores.</p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 03:41:24 +0000 John Racanelli 500980 at http://wypr.org Unusual Fish Dads - 6/10/14 http://wypr.org/post/unusual-fish-dads-61014 <p>Seahorses, sea dragons and pipefish are among the most&nbsp;flamboyant fish in the ocean.</p><p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 23:30:02 +0000 John Racanelli 500461 at http://wypr.org Mapping the Seafloor - 6/3/14 http://wypr.org/post/mapping-seafloor-6314 <p>Oceanography and seafloor mapping have been headline news recently in the search for Malaysian Airlines Flight 370. One of the many challenges of finding the missing plane was the fact that the ocean floor has been dark, deep and remote for all of time.</p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 09:30:00 +0000 John Racanelli 500135 at http://wypr.org Bob Talbot: Redefining Ocean Conservation - 5/27/14 http://wypr.org/post/bob-talbot-redefining-ocean-conservation-52714 <p>Marine photographer, videographer and environmentalist Bob Talbot has been working in and around the ocean since he was a young man living along the California coastline.</p><p> Tue, 27 May 2014 02:53:28 +0000 John Racanelli 13683 at http://wypr.org Go With the Flow - 5/20/14 http://wypr.org/post/go-flow-52014 <p>Go with the flow. For some people this is a life philosophy; for oceanographers, it describes the very dynamics of our global ocean.</p> Tue, 20 May 2014 00:41:55 +0000 John Racanelli 13357 at http://wypr.org